Past Events


Sponsored by

  • First Joint METU-IPM Conference on LHC Physics


    The ICTP – Eurasian Centre for Advanced Research (ICTP-ECAR) is hosting an international conference entitled “First Joint METU-IPM Conference on LHC Physics”. The activity will be held at the ICTP-ECAR, located at the Izmir Institute of Technology campus, from 29 September – 3 October 2015.

    This meeting will focus on the LHC physics as well as upgrades. It intends to introduce the subjects to the young students and scientists of the region. The main experimental and technical topics related to the LHC will be reviewed by the leading scientists of the field.


    Ephesus Excursion


    • Hamed Bakshian, IPM [pdf]
    • Altan Cakir, ITU [pdf]
    • Shant Baghram, Sharif University [pdf]
    • Kerstin Borras, DESY [pdf]
    • Didier Claude Contardo, CERN – IPNL [pdf]
    • Jorgen D’Hondt, Vrije Universiteit Brussels – IIHE [pdf]
    • Daniel Denegri, CEA [pdf]
    • Tulay Cuhadar Donszelmann, CERN [pdf]
    • Guray Erkol, Ozyegin University [pdf]
    • Bora Isildak, Ozyegin University [pdf]
    • Mohsen Khakzad, IPM [pdf]
    • Shaban Khalil, Zwail City of Science and Technology [pdf]
    • Vanina Ruhlmann-Kleider, CEA [pdf]
    • Olga Kodolova, Moscow University [pdf]
    • Luca Malgeri , CERN [pdf]
    • Alexandre Nikitenko, Imperial College London [pdf]
    • Altug Ozpineci, METU [pdf]
    • Saeid Paktinat, IPM [pdf]
    • Albert De Roeck, CERN [pdf] [pdf]
    • Sezen Sekmen, Kyungpook National University [pdf]
    • Ismail Turan, METU [pdf]
    • Ayben Karasu Uysal, Karatay University [pdf]
    • Claudia Wulz, CERN – HEPHY [pdf]

    Conference Venue : IZTECH Library Conference Hall

    Conference Program
    Please click here to download program.Acrobat_image

    First Joint METU-IPM Conference on LHC Physics Accommodation Form

    Participant List Acrobat_image

    How to reach ICTP-ECAR.

    IZTECH Campus Map Acrobat_image

    ICTP-ECAR Info Pack 1Acrobat_image

    ICTP-ECAR Info Pack 2Acrobat_image

    Social Event:

    01 October 2015 : Ephesus Excursion*

    *The organizing committee provide a private Ephesus tour. This tour includes transportation to Ephesus and tour guide who will accompany you throughout the tour. This tour is free of charge but the entrance fee is not included which is 30  TL (~ 10 Euro) . If you would like to attend, please visit registration desk.


    • Higgs Physics
    • Supersymmetry
    • Top Physics
    • Flavour Physics
    • Forward Physics
    • Heavy Ion Physics
    • Cosmology
    • Detector Physics
    • LHC upgrades

    Organizing Committee

    • Hessameddin Arfaei, IPM, Iran
    • Bugra Bilin, METU, Turkey
    • Mojtaba Mohammadi, IPM, Iran
    • Altug Ozpineci, METU, Turkey
    • Saeid Paktinat, IPM, Iran
    • Koray Sevim, IZTECH – ICTP-ECAR, Turkey
    • Mehmet Tevfik Zeyrek, METU, Turkey (Chair)

    International Advisory Board

    • Nural Akchurin, Texas Tech University
    • Tahmasib Aliev, METU
    • Farhad Ardalan, IPM – SUT
    • Kerstin Borras, DESY
    • Tiziano Camporesi, CERN
    • Didier Claude Contardo, CERN – IPNL
    • Jorgen D’Hondt, Vrije Universiteit Brussels – IIHE
    • Durmus Ali Demir, IZTECH
    • Daniel Denegri, CEA
    • Fabiola Gianotti, CERN
    • Peter Jenni, CERN, Albert Ludwigs, Universitat Freiburg
    • Mohsen Khakzad, IPM
    • Shaban Khalil, Zwail City of Science and Technology
    • Vanina Ruhlmann-Kleider, CEA
    • Namık Kemal Pak, METU
    • Albert De Roeck, CERN
    • Batool Safarzadeh, IPM
    • Tejinder Virdee, Imperial College London
    • Claudia Wulz, CERN – HEPHY
    • Ali Ulvi Yilmazer, Ankara University

    Invited Speakers

    • Bugra Bilin, METU
    • Altan Cakir, ITU
    • Shant Baghram, Sharif University
    • Kerstin Borras, DESY
    • Didier Claude Contardo, CERN – IPNL
    • Jorgen D’Hondt, Vrije Universiteit Brussels – IIHE
    • Daniel Denegri, CEA
    • Tulay Cuhadar Donszelmann, CERN
    • Guray Erkol, Ozyegin University
    • Bora Isildak, Ozyegin University
    • Mohsen Khakzad, IPM
    • Shaban Khalil, Zwail City of Science and Technology
    • Vanina Ruhlmann-Kleider, CEA
    • Olga Kodolova, Moscow University
    • Luca Malgeri , CERN
    • Majtaba Mohammadi, IPM
    • Alexandre Nikitenko, Imperial College London
    • Altug Ozpineci, METU
    • Saeid Paktinat, IPM
    • Albert De Roeck, CERN
    • Sezen Sekmen, Kyungpook National University
    • Ismail Turan, METU
    • Ayben Karasu Uysal, Karatay University
    • Claudia Wulz, CERN – HEPHY
    • Taylan Yetkin, YTU
    • Batool Safarzadeh, IPM
    • Maryam Zeinali, IPM

    Accommodation Information:

    Guest House: IYTE Yaşam Merkezi

    • Single Room: 80 TL** (inc. breakfast)
    • Double Room: 65 TL** (inc. breakfast)
    ** per person, per night

    This conference will create a synergy between young scientists and students in the field and we will be able to join our efforts toward LHC and related studies and boost our contributions to this area of science significantly.

    Young scientists, postdocs and PhD students from the Region (such as Turkey, Iran, Egypt, Pakistan, and others) and from elsewhere are encouraged to attend the conference. Limited funds are available for supporting some successful applicants from developing countries, to be selected by the organizers. Such financial support is available only to those who attend the entire conference. There is no registration fee for attending the Conference.

    Supported by  GES_logo

    The extended deadline for abstract submission is 15 August 2015.

    Please click on the image to view in pdf format.

    Please click on the image to view in pdf format.

    Secretariat: Canan Nurhan Karahan  (ecar1502)

    Telephone: +90-232-7507787 – E-mail:

    ICTP-ECAR Home Page: