Past Events


Sponsored by

  • Advanced Workshop on Landau-Zener Interferometry and Quantum Control in Condensed Matter


    The workshop will address recent developments on Landau-Zener dynamics and related quantum control in complex systems including (but not limited to) many body effects in ultracold gases, dissipative Landau-Zener transitions, Landau-Zener interferometry in superconducting qubits, double and triple quantum dots, spin & charge qubits, N-V centers and nano-mechanical systems.

    The central idea of this workshop is to bring together various condensed matter communities, dealing with complex systems, where the nonequilibrium dynamics at avoided crossings is (other than in pure atomic systems) highly influenced by many body interactions and, in many cases, environmental fluctuations. We expect about 80 participants including about 25 invited presentations given by the world experts in order to exchange ideas and shape new links beyond the traditional community boundaries. We hope to facilitate Landau-Zener interferometry and quantum control as one of the key spectroscopic tools in condensed matter systems for the future.



    QCCM Abstract BookQCCM_abstractt

    Organizing Committee

    • Immanuel Bloch (LMU & MPQ, Germany)
    • Ozgur Cakir (IZTECH, Turkey)
    • Devrim Guclu (IZTECH, Turkey)
    • Mikhail Kiselev (ICTP, Italy)
    • Stefan Ludwig (LMU, Germany)
    • Peter Nalbach, (U Hamburg, Germany)
    • Tugrul Senger (IZTECH, Turkey)
    • Haldun Sevincli (IZTECH, Turkey)

    Invited Speakers

    • Dimitris Angelakis (TU Crete, Greece + Center for Quantum Technologies, Singapore)
    • Alexander Atland (Institute for Theoretical Physics, University of Cologne, Germany)
    • Pierre Barthelemy (TU Delft, the Netherlands)
    • Guido Burkard (University of Konstanz, Germany)
    • Aashish Clerk (McGill University, Canada)
    • Yuval Gefen (Weizmann Institute of Science, Israel)
    • Steven Girvin (Yale University, USA)
    • Peter Hänggi (Universität Augsburg, Germany)
    • Andreas Hemmerich (Institut für Laserphysik, Universität Hamburg, Germany)
    • Menderes Iskin (Koç University, Turkey)
    • Sigmund Kohler (Instituto de Ciencia de Materiales de Madrid, Spian)
    • Mikhail Lukin (Harvard University, USA)
    • Florian Marquardt (Institute for Theoretical Physics II / University of Erlangen-Nuremberg, Germany)
    • Gilles Montambaux (Université Paris-Sud, France)
    • Oliver Morsch (University of Pisa, Italy)
    • Mehmet Ozgur Oktel (Bilkent University, Turkey)
    • William D. Oliver (MIT, USA)
    • Jukka Pekola (Aalto University, Finland)
    • Thomas Pohl (Max-Planck-Institute for the Physics of Complex Systems, Germany)
    • Valery Pokrovsky (Texas A&M University, USA)
    • Anatoli Polkovnikov (Boston University, USA)
    • Andrew Sachrajda (National Research Council of Canada, Canada)
    • Ulrich Schneider (Ludwig-Maximilians-Universität, Germany)
    • Tim Taminiau (TU Delft, the Netherlands)
    • Richard J. Warburton (University of Basel, Switzerland)
    • Eva Weig (University of Konstanz, Germany)
    • Sergey Shevchenko (Kharkov State University, Ukraine)