ICTP Prize Winners 2013


The 2013 ICTP Prize in honour of Marie Curie has been awarded to Dr. Yasaman Farzan, Institute for Research in Fundamental Sciences, Tehran, Iran.

“The prize recognises Professor Yasaman Farzan (Iran) for her theoretical contributions to the physics of neutrinos, including development of the unitarity triangle method to determine the CP-violating phase, identification of symmetries leading to particular values of the phase and the proposal to use polarisation measurements to obtain information about CP violation. She has explored general conditions under which neutrino masses and properties of dark matter are related, elaborating possibilities of its composition including MeV mass scale scalar and fermion particles as well as electroweak mass scale vector bosons. This has important consequences for astrophysical observations and experiments at LHC.